London riots, as it was for me

I would be lying if I said I didn’t fear for life my life walking the streets London, given the state of recent events. The domino effect of the riots in the past three days has been tremendous and shocking. And often just leaves me wondering, why? Mark Duggan, I don’t think so, lack of unemployment, not sure, though I can say the greed, thieving, vandalism and looting from innocent families and local shop owners has raised many questions about this kind of human behaviour and violence from the young

On Monday morning,  my usual commute of an hour to get to Central London, turned into a two-hour nightmare. With Brixton station closed, I had to explore other ways of getting to Central London from Crystal Palace. I was treading in lanes and streets I’d never been before, to get to work on time

Passing by Brixton on a Sunday evening I saw banners and the festive mood for a Jamaican Festival. I least suspected the reason for massive crowd gatherings in the centre . Who knew that evening heightened into a series of more carnage

Work this past two days was  particularly stressful , with my colleagues in the field scrambling to get their best shots and sound bytes amidst the carnage and putting their lives at risk.Indeed social networks were a big help with the public feeding in regular updates in places where the clashes erupted. I had to be careful of the information I was passing to the crew to make sure they were in the right place at the right time .

As a journalist, what’s happening now  makes for great television footage and pictures, but definitely not for the reputation of London in the run up to the Olympics 2012.

Speaking to the RAI TV crew yesterday morning from last night’s filming, I heard things were brutal in some areas, such as Croydon, Peckham and Clapham Junction and they feared for their lives too. Dario, our Editor said the thugs were throwing bricks from a distance and they weren’t even equipped with the right helmets or any protective gear, should something have gone terribly wrong

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Coming back to Brixton last night was rather different. I took the bus to see if anything could have changed. No sooner I got off the station, the streets were empty, not a usual sight to see at 8 pm in Brixton, it was unbelievably quiet. It was all a bit eerie, you could tell something was wrong. Never had I seen so many police patrolling the streets of London, both at Oxford Street earlier and now the Brixton Station Road hit by the riots late Sunday. You can tell people are in a state of shock and panic and fear leaving their homes.

With the riots spreading to West Midlands, Manchester, Salford and other areas of England, who knows what more is to come

3 thoughts on “London riots, as it was for me

  1. Very few of the rioters were interviewed by the media. Difficult to do, I’m sure, but important. Hours and hours of coverage but little insight into the motives – though I thought the round table on Sky was good (I mean, for them).

    There are a lot of people in the UK, particularly among the youth, who appear to have nothing to lose. And that’s a dangerous situation that few of us want to admit. Personally, I’d love to tear up a Starbucks or Miss Selfridges, but it wouldn’t look good on the resume

    1. You couldn’t be more right on this. No one’s got down to the causes or done any research into the background of the rioters. Its all quite fluid.
      Thought I did hear the LSE and Guardian are teaming up to conduct some research on this. Something similar to what was done after the riots in Detroit. You tearing up starbucks would be one to watch out for lol !

Leave a Reply

